Find Cheap Health Insurance Quotes In Connecticut
The cheapest health insurance in Connecticut for most people is the Choice Silver Standard POS plan from ConnectiCare. This plan is the most affordable Silver plan in every one of Connecticut’s counties. However, the cost of coverage differs depending on the county.
The average cost of health insurance in Connecticut is $538 per month for a 40-year-old.
Select a plan tier to learn more:
In Connecticut, individual health insurance is available for purchase through the Access Health CT state exchange. There, you can find a policy that fits your medical needs and financial situation. Health plans are provided by two companies in Connecticut: Anthem BlueCross BlueShield and ConnectiCare.
No Mandatory Health Insurance: Advantages
The primary upside to health insurance no longer being mandatory at the federal level is the money you don’t have to spend on premiums that remains in your pocket.
“If you’re young and healthy, it’s possible to get by without paying a monthly bill for health insurance, which saves you money,” says Chane Steiner, CEO of Crediful, a personal finance website. That could be helpful if you’re trying to pay off student loans or save money toward a down payment on a home.
Of course, if your employer offers some type of health insurance coverage as part of your benefits package, you may be able to get affordable coverage anyway, without having to shop around for it.
Christina Nicholson, owner of Media Maven, opted to cancel her health insurance and pay out-of-pocket for pregnancy-related medical expenses that her plan didn’t cover. She first considered adding herself to her husband’s health insurance, but their premiums would have increased by over $1,000 per month so she opted to pay her own medical bills.
Fortunately, she was able to negotiate discounts from her hospitals and doctors, which ended up costing her significantly less money than she would have paid had she been covered. In one instance, the difference between the cost of medical tests with insurance was $1,900 more than her negotiated fee without insurance.
You Have More Insurance Options For Your Health Than You Think Connecticut
If youre self-employed or without insurance from your employer in other words, youre looking for individual or family health insurance in Connecticut you might be looking for Affordable Care Act insurance, what’s often called Obamacare. However, we want to make you aware of the whole range of individual and family insurance products we have available in your state.
Recommended Reading: How To Understand Health Insurance Plans
Employer Health Insurance Continuation Laws
If your employer does offer group health insurance, you have the right to continue it after you leave employment. The federal Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act requires employers with 20 or more employees to allow their employees to continue health care coverage at their own expense.
If you quit, are laid off, or are fired for reasons other than gross misconduct, you can continue to receive your group health coverage, as long as you pay the full amount of the premium.
The Future Of Individual Health Insurance Mandates
Over the past year, a few additional states have considered or are considering individual mandates, including:
However, so far, none of these states havemanaged to ultimately pass state individual mandates.
Lawmakers who push for individual mandate laws argue that its needed to incentivize people to get health insurance. The argument is that if not enough healthy people sign up for coverage, the pool of insured individuals will be made up mostly of sick people, and health premiums will rise for everyone. However, many states have attempted and failed to pass individual mandate legislation, and these laws remain politically controversial.
According to Forbes.com, the new Biden administration is expected to bring back the federal tax penalty for going without ACA-compliant health coverage. Its unclear yet whether he would do this through an executive order or legislative reform.
You May Like: What Is The Largest Health Insurance Company
Connecticut And The Patient Protection And Affordable Care Act Of 2010
The Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act became law in 2010. Provisions of the law have continued to be phased in following passage. As of January 1, 2014, most U.S. citizens and legal residents are required by law to have qualifying health care coverage or pay an annual tax penalty for every month they go without insurance. This is called the individual mandate. There is a grace period through March 31, 2014. Beginning in 2014, the penalty for not having qualifying coverage is $95 per adult and $47.50 per child or 1% of your taxable income whichever is higher . The penalty increases annually through 2017 and beyond.
New Legislation Makes Pregnancy A Qualifying Event As Of 2019
Under the ACA, various life changes are considered qualifying events, and they trigger special enrollment periods, either in the exchange or in the entire individual market . The qualifying events are similar to those that already existed for the employer-sponsored market, but there are some qualifying events that are specific to the individual market .
The birth of a baby is considered a qualifying event under federal rules, but a pregnancy is not. HHS considered the possibility of changing this a few years ago, but clarified in 2015 that they had .
But in New York, legislation took effect in 2016 that makes pregnancy a qualifying event. And pregnancy will also be a qualifying event in Connecticut, starting in 2019. SB206 passed 139-10 in the Connecticut House, and 35-0 in the Senate during the 2018 session. Governor Malloy did not sign it, but it became law automatically, without his signature, since he also did not veto it.
The new law calls for a special enrollment period that lasts for 30 days from the time a womans pregnancy is confirmed by a licensed health care provider. The special enrollment period only applies to ACA-compliant individual market plans, and is only available for women who do not already have minimum essential coverage. So it does not allow a pregnant woman to switch from, say, a bronze plan to a gold plan when she finds out shes pregnant.
Also Check: What Jobs Give Health Insurance
The History Of Health Insurance In New York State
New York State has one of the countrys most progressive health insurance systems. Since 1990, New York State residents have enjoyed the benefits of community rating and guaranteed issue. These two laws are key components of the Affordable Care Act that went into effect on March 23rd, 2010.
Respectively community rating and guaranteed issue mean insurance companies cannot charge people more based on their background or medical history, and deny health insurance coverage to anyone for any reason.
These two laws have expanded health insurance coverage to many New Yorkers since their introduction more than 20 years ago. However, these two policies have also contributed to higher health insurance costs in the state.
Before the Affordable Care Act being enacted and allowing these two laws to now become a right for Americans, some experts thought health insurance rates nationwide would increase. By some estimates, premiums were said to rise by as much as 30 percent, according to a study released by the Society of Actuaries.
In New York. however, it was thought that health insurance rates could fall by as much as 14 percent when the rest of the Care Act was to take effect, according to the same study.
Again, before the Affordable Care Act, states that already have community rating and/or guaranteed issue laws on the books like Maine, Vermont, Massachusetts, and New Jersey thought theyd also see the same cost declining effect.
Calculating Your Penalty Fees
For 2018 and earlier, you can calculate the the amount youll pay in penalty fees two different ways.
Youll pay whichever is higher. Using the percentage method, only the part of your household income thats above the yearly tax filing requirement is counted. Using the per person method, you pay only for people in your household who dont have insurance coverage.
If you have coverage for part of the year, the fee is 1/12 of the annual amount for each month you dont have coverage. If you do not have coverage for only 1 or 2 months, you dont have to pay the fee at all.
You can use the IRS penalty fee estimator to figure out how much you might owe from uncovered periods in 2018 and earlier.
What Is Access Health Ct
Access Health CT is the marketplace that offers individuals, families, and small employers a range of qualified, approved health insurance plans from brand-name carriers in Connecticut. Access Health CT will also coordinate eligibility and enrollment with state Medicaid and Childrens Health Insurance Programs.
Is There A Penalty For Not Having Health Insurance In 2019 2020 Or 2021
As of Jan. 1, 2019, there is no penalty for not having health insurance. You wont need to qualify for an exemption to not pay a penalty when you pay your federal taxes.
However, some states still require you to be enrolled in health insurance coverage. California, the District of Columbia, Massachusetts, New Jersey, Rhode Island, and Vermont have their own individual mandates. If you decide not to enroll in coverage in one of these states, you may owe a penalty fee when you file your taxes for the 2019 plan year.
You May Like: Do I Have To Offer Health Insurance To All Employees
Can I Require My Spouse To Pay For My Medical Insurance In The Divorce
The answer to this question is case-dependent. There are many variables, including, but not limited to: COBRA cost the need for the specific COBRA coverage the finances of the parties the ability of the non-subscribing spouse to acquire new, comparable health coverage the ability of the non-subscribing spouse to acquire any new health coverage the division of marital income and property the ages of the parties and, the level of flexibility for the non-subscribing spouse to forgo other marital income and/or assets to allow the subscribing spouse to pay for COBRA coverage.
The important thing is to have excellent legal representation in your divorce so the issue of continuing medical coverage is explored and resolved to meet YOUR situation as well as possible.
Dependent Definition Under Public Act 08
DEPENDENT DEFINITION UNDER PUBLIC ACT 08-147: HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE UNDER PARENTS INDIVIDUAL OR GROUP PLAN FOR UNMARRIED CHILDREN UP TO AGE 26
Connecticut law now allows parents to cover certain unmarried children up to the age of 26, under the parents individual or group health insurance plan. Points to remember:
- Dependent does not follow the IRS definition of dependent. In other words, the adult child can have a job, be living in their own apartment, and still be covered by this law.
- The new law does not apply to policies issued outside of Connecticut.
- Adult children who were dropped prior to January 1 because of age can re-enroll.
- Coverage ends when the child
- becomes insured under their own employers group plan, or
- ceases to be a resident of Connecticut , or
- reaches age 26
FOR MORE INFORMATION: Contact your employee benefits administrator, or contact the Connecticut Insurance Department via:
You May Like: How To Add Dependent To Health Insurance
No Mandatory Health Insurance: Disadvantages
It takes a very savvy healthcare consumer to score discounts from providers, not all of whom will necessarily go along with such requests. Normally, insurance companies, not individuals, are the ones negotiating with hospitals and doctors to lower prices for large member groups.
The main drawback when health insurance isn’t mandatory, however, is the risk you assume when choosing the self-pay route. The downside of going health insurance-free could be substantial if you end up needing expensive medical care and you don’t have the money to pay for it from savings or your monthly income.
“You’re one major accident or illness away from falling into long-term debt, as medical bills can be quite excessive out of pocket,” Steiner says.
Washington Dc Individual Mandate
- Effective date: January 1, 2019
- Requires individuals and their dependents have ACA-compliant health insurance
- Imposes a penalty on residents who go without health insurance but can afford it
- Provides exemptions to the tax penalty for circumstances such as financial hardship, pregnancy, or eviction
Individuals who go without qualifying health coverage for a full year and dont file for an exemption may owe a tax penalty. The penalty amount is either 2.5% of the gross family household income or $695 per individual and $347.50 per child youll pay whichever amount is greater.
According to dchealthlink.com, the maximum penalty for not having coverage in DC is based on the average premiums for bronze level health plans available on DC Health Link. In 2020 this amount is $3,448/year per person and, for households with more than one person without coverage, it is multiplied by the number of people in the household without coverage up to a maximum of five household members. So, potentially, a household of five or more that went the entire year without health coverage would have a penalty cap of $17,240 in 2020.
Recommended Reading: How To Get Health Insurance For My Small Business
Health Insurance Options In Connecticut
In recent years, there have been major changes in health care in Connecticut.
Since the Affordable Care Act was signed into law in 2010, its had a significant effect on Connecticut residents. Between 2013 and 2016, the number of uninsured individuals declined by 48.3%, from 333,000 people to just 172,000.3
Connecticut was also the first state in the country to expand Medicaid enrollment to low-income adults who earn up to 133% of the federal poverty level, or $17,130 in 2021. Under the expansion, it was estimated that 45,000 adults would become eligible for public health aid.4 Medicaid expansion in the state encouraged greater use of preventative health services and reduced the states uninsured rate.5
Thanks to these developments, you have several choices when it comes to health insurance. What kind of insurance plan you may qualify for is dependent on your age, income, and family size.
How Do I Get My Card
You will receive a PDF of your guard.me card in your myCentennial email 4 weeks after the beginning of your first semester. Sometimes, the email from guard.me goes to your Spam or Junk folder, so be sure to check there. You will not receive a physical card.
Even though you receive your card 4 weeks after the start of your first semester, you are covered from the first day of your first month. If you have to seek medical help before you receive your card, make sure you are familiar with what is covered. Keep all your receipts so that you may submit your claim online once you receive your card.
If you still do not find your policy information, please email from your myCentennial email or visit your International Education department with your student card.
Also Check: How To Get Health Insurance For My Parents
Understanding The Rules For Health Insurance Can Be Confusing
Do you have to have health insurance? The Affordable Care Act , signed into law in 2010, was designed to make health insurance coverage more affordable for Americans through the creation of tax subsidies, while also opening up Medicaid eligibility to more low-income individuals and families. The ACA effectively made having health insurance mandatory not having it meant you would incur a tax penalty.
But what about now? What is the penalty for not having health insurance today? If you don’t have it, does the rule still apply? Here’s what you need to know about mandatory health insurance coverage.
What Is The Cheapest Health Insurance
As you can see from the factors listed above, theres a lot that goes into determining the price of insurance. There isnt a single healthcare plan thats the most affordable for everyone. But finding the right plan for your needs is easy with HealthMarkets. Our free FitScore® technology helps you shop, compare and apply for a healthcare plan in minutes. We can even check to see if you may qualify for a tax credit. To get a better look at what plans could cost you and your family, get started now.
46698-HM-1120* Subsidy amounts are based on a 40-year-old nonsmoker making $30,000 per year.
Also Check: How To Get Cheap Health Insurance In Texas
Free To Read Not Free To Produce
The Connecticut Mirror is a nonprofit newsroom. 90% of our revenue comes from people like you. If you value our reporting please consider making a donation. You’ll enjoy reading CT Mirror even more knowing you helped make it happen.
ABOUT THE AUTHOR
Ana RadelatAna has written about politics and policy in Washington, D.C.. for Gannett, Thompson Reuters and UPI. She was a special correspondent for the Miami Herald, and a regular contributor to The New York TImes, Advertising Age and several other publications. She has also worked in broadcast journalism, for CNN and several local NPR stations. She is a graduate of the University of Maryland School of Journalism.